Please support the ASLC with Free Registration and get access to all our reviews

Author: Ritter, William
Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers
Year Published: 2015
ISBN: 9781616203542
Grades: Grades 7-12

Beastly Bones

Reviewed by:

“In this sequel to Jackaby (Algonquin, 2014), Ritter seamlessly presents enough backstory for newcomers to thoroughly enjoy this hybrid of historical fiction and fantasy . . . On a scale of ‘one to pomegranate,’ this volume is undoubtedly a pomegranate; it offers humor, adventure, mystery, gore, and romance all rolled into one well-written package. The best news? There is more to come, as Ritter sets up Jackaby and Rook’s next case regarding the ephemeral Jenny, murdered many years ago.” —School Library Journal, starred review

“Recommend this to readers who enjoy Doctor Who, Supernatural, Grimm, Dresden Files, Harry Potter, and, of course, Sherlock Holmes stories, and who are ready to stay up into the wee hours reading.” —VOYA, starred review

“[A] fast-paced sequel to Jackaby . . . As bones go missing–and then small livestock–methodical investigation and scientific experimentation yield to madcap chases, slapstick humor, and romance. Ritter’s blends–fantasy and mystery, action and tension, oddball detective and able sidekick–employ but exceed their stock elements. With one case closed but two unsolved, the well-matched, well-written duo will undoubtedly return to fight a more fearsome foe. A witty and weird adventure equal parts Sherlock and Three Stooges.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“The fun continues in this Holmsien follow-up to Jackaby. . . Fans of the first novel will be pleased with this entertaining sequel, rich in intrigue and imagination.”Booklist



twitter
Wish on All the Stars
Schroeder, Lisa
ISBN: 9781338195774
Grades: Grade 5, Grade 6, Grade 7, Grade 8

Prolific author Lisa Schroeder has written a sequel to “See You on a Starry Night” that can be read as…...

This content is for members only. Membership is free so please take a minute to sign up and read the review.

Please Sign Up or Login Register
Cursed
Silverstein, Karol Ruth
ISBN: 9781580899406
Grades: Grades 7 to 12

Debut author and screenwriter Karol Ruth Silverstein pens an empowering and emotionally-charged novel about a teen with juvenile arthritis, based…...

This content is for members only. Membership is free so please take a minute to sign up and read the review.

Please Sign Up or Login Register
Something Like Gravity
Smith, Amber
ISBN: 9781534437180
Grades: Grades 9 to 12

New York Times best-selling author Amber Smith, who is an advocate for increased awareness of gender violence as well as…...

This content is for members only. Membership is free so please take a minute to sign up and read the review.

Please Sign Up or Login Register
Teen Titans: Raven
Garcia, Kami
ISBN: 9781401286231
Grades: Grades 7 to 12

Young adult author Kami Garcia writes her debut graphic novel with artist Gabriel Picolo, producing the first amazing installment of…...

This content is for members only. Membership is free so please take a minute to sign up and read the review.

Please Sign Up or Login Register
© Copyright 2021 all rights reserved.